College Day 79 – Memory

(November 4th, Wednesday)

Today’s intriguing thought:

During class, I was trying to recall what I was doing the days before, and it came to my attention that memory is a precious part of the brain. A couple weeks ago our psychology class watched a video about a guy who has short term memory loss. He has daily routines that he has to write down because he forgets about things like his job, or people he has talked to, even his childhood.

I thought about it for a while and I came to appreciate the fact that I could remember even just glimpses of my past. Even if I forget about something little, I have so much stored in my memory that I have nothing to complain about. I can’t imagine having to put in the effort to know what I have to do every day rather than having it be a subconscious part of my brain.

Yes, I’m going to say that we shouldn’t take our memories for granted. We’ll never know what the next day brings, so we have to enjoy the good moments and remember them for as long as we can.

Leave a reply

